Piece of heaven

Birds of a feather flock together. Or rather, their radar seems to attract one another. As a foodie, my daily staple of blog readings would never be complete without going through some food blogs. They are my morning juice, rhetorically. Some of them soon became favourites and then the owners of these blogs became online friends. One of the food blogs I was attracted to some years back was that of Madame Ovenhaven. Through her blog, I followed a link in the comment box and landed myself at CherryOnACake. And that’s where I am getting at.

It was love at first sight. Food, photography and all things pretty–she had the winning combination in the right proportions. I couldn’t get through a day without dropping by her site (and salivate and oohed and aahed), to the point that I banned myself from going there during Ramadan. What was more awesome, I realised that she lives in the same neighbourhood as I do! Food cupid got their targets right this time.

Anyway, she recently ordered something from me (which I will go to it later) and I had gone over to her place to send them. This owner of Cherry On a Cake, whom I call Aunty Zurin is a really pretty lady and if I hadn’t known that she’s a grandmother, I would have called her ‘Kak Zurin’. If I had thought her blog was pretty, the person behind it was even prettier!

Aunty Zurin gave me the box below.When I opened it, I giggled gleefully. I was like a child presented with a box of candies. In it were 4 pieces of neatly cut Brownies as shown in my previous post. I pinched a bit, with the intention of only tasting it as I had just taken lunch. But that was a grave mistake. I took a bite after that, and then another and then another and then… with my mouth covered with crumbs, I *burp*, alhamdulillah.

I died and had gone to Brownie Heaven. Aunty Zurin said she didn’t make them Brownies. Her sons did. Like mother like sons. All of them in conspiracy to ruin my diet, I suspect. And the diets of many more women who have trouble controlling themselves when presented with a piece of heaven like I did.

Would you like to taste some?

Her sons behind The Brownie Bars take orders. Give them a tinkle between 2 to 4 days in advance. The number is on the pic in this post. And if you don’t, I think you would die regretting. Like seriously.

3 thoughts on “Piece of heaven

  1. Oh Thank you dear 🙂 You are too generous with your compliments. My son was thrilled to bits when I told him you were going to brag about his brownies on your blog. I’m going to tell him to see this post now …hehe…dont worry about your diet….you do enough akido to deserve brownies.

    btw what a gorgeous photo of the brownies you took! Im so glad you liked them :))) and you are super super cute yourself …so happy to have met you at last.

  2. Aunty Zurin,
    What aikido? Dah sebulan tak train.. hehe
    Balik umrah nak rest konon.
    One month rest? That’s an excuse to stay home and eat Brownies… :p

  3. Hi Perc, yup I did get your email bout the soap but I was speed reading it off my bberry coz I wasn’t in town then. But I can’t seem to find the email in my inbox now..perhaps its there buried under tonnes of other emails or I may have accidentally removed it. Perhaps you can email it to me again!Tks.

Leave a Reply

