Number 4

There is a P.Ramlee dialog in which the character claimed that ” Hari ni hari bodoh saya, tuannn” (today is my stupid day). Mine was yesterday.

I had gone to see my family off for their coach ride back to Singapore. Then I remembered my Pinoy part-time helper complaining that my mop is broken so I thought that before I forget, I might as well go and get one before going home. Once out of the hypermarket with the long mop, I realised it was raining, thunderstorms et al. Which means I couldn’t make my way home and I couldn’t find a cab to take me home. So I called the husband who said he should leave the office in 2 hours and if I could wait, he would swing by to get me. Fine.

On autopilot, I went to buy myself a movie ticket. “I am no 4”, starring Glee’s pregnant teenager Quinn Fabray: Dianna Agron. It was only after I got my ticket that I realised that on my left hand, I have been dragging the long mop all over the place and now, I am going to watch a movie with it?!

With my Indon face and slack dressing yesterday, I looked suspiciously like an Indon maid whose employer asked to go and buy a mop but gallivant to watch a movie instead. The movie was lame by the way and I got strange looks from the other patrons on why the heck is this person watching a movie, with a mop!? *sigh*

Well, at the very worst case scenario, I can say I’ve dated a mop. Have you?

3 thoughts on “Number 4

  1. Percicilan,
    I can’t say I’ve dated a mop before, but I think you a brave woman. How many women do you think will carry a mop into a movie theatre and not to worry what others (strangers) think of her?

  2. i still break into stitches reading n re-reading ur line ‘It was only after I got my ticket that I realised that on my left hand, I have been dragging the long mop all over the place and now, I am going to watch a movie with it?!’

    u’re brave, REALLY brave. i’d probably forgo the ticket n go find a corner to hide in while i wait, with that mop.

Leave a Reply

