To my dear beloved friend…

I recently found out that a friend’s husband, younger than myself was diagnosed with stage 2 cancer of the stomach. And the doctors said that it may have spread to the pancreas. The first thing I thought about was the late Randy Pausch, of the Last Lecture fame. When he found out he had cancer of the pancreas was that he did research and look for statistics to find out how much time he had before it was time to go. And he proactively lived his life to the fullest the last few months he had.

The last I heard from M, she was still in shock over the news and the whole family is still trying to deal with the tremor the news had caused them. They didn’t do the Randy, but they are coping albeit in disbelief still. Fortunately, they do not have any children yet so the whole financial situation can be somewhat contained.

I feel for her but I do not exactly know what to say to her. I can say that my heart ache for her but to really feel what she is going through is quite impossible and I can only afford to watch her situation from the outside and be there for her, a phone call away. Both she and her husband are good people with one of the kindest hearts around and she is one friend I love to bits. But just like the Malay proverb says ” Berat mata memandang, berat lagi bahu memikul”

This news sort of wake me up in its own way. Now young people are dying of illnesses. We used to say, when I was a kid, “Nanti dah tua dah nak mati baru lah…” it is always the case of the old age when in reference to death. But now that I am reminded yet again that we don’t always need to get old to die. Today may be our last day.

Anyway, to my friend, I just read a hadith in which it says that for one who dies of illnesses which stemmed from the stomach, his death would be equivalent to those who fought in the battlefield. I wish you the best for this jihad sis. HE knows best.

One thought on “To my dear beloved friend…

  1. I don’t know what can help his family to feel better! The only thing I can do is to pray for him to get well. Get well soon🙂

Leave a Reply

