Milo:In Loving Memory

It’s the last day of January today, what would be the last day of a very eventful first chapter of 2011. Nevertheless, January 2011 won’t just go into our family book as the year my sister got married, it was also the year when we lost someone really, really dear to us forever, in a very heart-wrenching way.

Early morning of 27th January 2011, I logged out after writing my last post below. I did actually doze off for a while until we both were suddenly awakened by really deafening loud howling and simultaneously, all the neighbours’ dogs started to bark really, really loudly. The husband jumped out of bed and ran out of the house and to the front gate. Soon he ran back in and grabbed our katana (a wooden sword we use for training) and ran out again. I watch from the window but I couldn’t really see what was going on. Soon, I heard water being splashed and sprayed hard and I saw the figure of 4 large dogs, running away while howling, and the rest of the neighbourhood dogs barking along.

The husband came back in and said just one sentence, which crumbled my world there and then. “Milo is dead” he said, before hurrying off again with a towel and old newspapers. It was a full minute later that it sank into me. That Milo was attacked by those 4 wild dogs I saw running away from the front of our house and he was killed in the process. I looked at the clock. It was 3.10 am. The attack must have happened around 3 am when we were woken up by the howlings. Suddenly, I heard myself bawling. No. I was wailing. Milo dead? My Milo? Our dearest, dearest Milo is no longer with us?

By 3.30am, Milo was safely buried in our garden. The last memory I had of him was that I gave him a bowl of milk which he lapped hungrily. I then patted him and said ‘I love you Milo’ as with any other nights before I go to bed. That was the last contact I had with him. The rest will just remain as wonderful memories.

In Loving Memory

5 thoughts on “Milo:In Loving Memory

  1. Percicilan,

    I’m sorry to hear that Milo died. I know he meant a lot to you. I’ve been reading your blog for a while, it’s like I know him personally. Milo will be missed.

  2. Awwwww im so sorry dear.

    I think it was the same pack of dogs that did the same thing to a kitten behind our house before subuh.My boys saw teh whole scene and it shook them bad too. Although the kitten was a stray.

    Again im sorry about Milo. But we know she had a good life.

Leave a Reply

