I like Terminal 3 and other thoughts

In the last trip I made it back to my hometown, I told the husband I wanted to spend some time alone, just to sort of see where I am in the scheme of things there. It is not entirely possible to totally be alone of course, because the sole purpose of me going back on last weekend was to celebrate Mother’s Day with the whole extended family, and also attend a friend’s wedding the next day. And oh, also to take the husband to my arwah yayi’s grave, which he had not been to since joining our family.

I had arranged to meet up with Is on Saturday afternoon because of all people, I know she would be able to understand what I would want to express, my thoughts and sentiments about.. err things? heh.😛

Prior to that, I just have to add this on. I got my nasi rawon fix from Mukmin. But somehow, I felt that it tasted different and I was right. New stall owner. No wonder. The nasi rawon set, even though a full set, didn’t give the oomph I was anticipating for so long. The husband had his first taste of lontong goreng Mukmin and my good ol father had his kacang phool fix. Breakfast was good and nostalgic. After which, I excused myself to just walk around Terminal 3 airport, which was going to be my first visit there, on my own. The husband went off to spend time at Bussorah Street, at his favorite Sufi bookstore.

My lunch date with Is was at 12 noon and I arrived at the T3 at 9-ish. I walked around, ‘people watch’, window-shopped, sat down, thought for a moment, got up and walked again, sat down again and people watched–again. I saw little children with expensive handheld games, teenagers with sophisticated gadgets, immaculately cleaned toilets, people walking in a huff, heard Singlish, eyed the daringly dressed Malay girls, acknowledged affluence and cringed on the consumerism. And more.

When 12 noon came and Is came with her cute Arshad,(the last time I saw them was the year before last at KLCC), I downloaded my thoughts upon her. I told her that, I felt the pangs to be back, especially when I see all things efficient to the T. Where things are generally in order,the digits at the supermarket are not so high (it makes a lot of psychological difference when I see my favorite Swiss yogurt selling for S$1 at NTUC and RM 3 at Giant) and of course, later in the day–the familiar banters and laughters of my family members, which is my perpetual comfort zone.

But then again, as I told Is, I knew that if I were to make a U-turn and return to the hometown for good, give me a few months and I would feel compelled to leave again. I knew  that I would be caught up yet again in the rat race, into the system which I know I can no longer be a part of, not because of anything else but at the speed the MOE there is going, my teaching methodologies would deem obsolete. And many more.

I know that as much as I miss the comfort zone of having my immediate and extended family members around me, I know I would crave the freedom I have doing whatever I want to do or try to achieve without having to conform to a ‘clan-ish’ expectations. I would miss my present carefree life.

And I know, no matter how much I admire and crave the affluence my hometown has to offer, I acknowledged that I have been made wiser with the paradigm shift in my life since I moved out i.e goodbye consumerism-hello c’est la vie and que sera sera.

The lure of coming back came in the form of pangs and yearnings. But then again, I was having pangs and cravings for Nasi Rawon for the longest time (at least since February 6 since I last had it at T2). But one meal of it is enough. The next day, when my friend offered to pack for me from MasAyu Siglap, I declined with a no thanks, once is enough.

And I reckon, I would be like that as well with the issue of coming back. I yearn and have sporadic pangs of wanting to be back, but hell, I do know of dozens others of my friends who are desperate to be out. And I would be one of them perhaps more than a week back home. So just like the second fix of nasi rawon, I declined the thoughts of wanting to be back home.

Hold on, is it still even  home for me?

(p.s, Is, great lunch, tho I found the cinamelts too sweet for me. But ya, great lunch date with you🙂 )

6 thoughts on “I like Terminal 3 and other thoughts

  1. Hey, nice pink polkadots. I like polkadots🙂
    My husband too keeps talking about wanting to move to other places because he finds that its too hectic over here. But then again, I cannot just accomodate to his whims and fancies every time he claims he wants to move to jb or aussie or some other countries. But i noticed a correlation between his desire to move and the amount of stress he has at work during periods of time. I guess he relieves his stress by saying that he wants to move elsewhere..its like me being stressed at work and relieving it by catching up on movies the whole day or indulging in a good read or going for a massage.

    But I do love it here, living in SG. I am happy at work and I realise one of the biggest blessings in my life is the rezeki through my job. It had always been stable and it had nurtured me to be the person I am today.

    We do have friends who already have plans to migrate, but no thanks to me, the husband may not have the opportunity to do the same. I guess I am too sheltered and unadventurous and I am a product of the government. I have been told all these by the husband but I don’t care, coz I am happy here and that’s all that matters and the grass may not always be greener on the other side!

    Having said all these, it does mean that I will never pack up my bags and go. It may just happen. Its just that I would always want to come back here.

  2. Hullo Iknowwhoyouarefromyouremailhohoho.. :p

    I like the polka dots too🙂
    I was greeted with “what you want to come back? We want to LEAVE!?!?!”
    reaction when I told some friends of the thoughts/pangs/yearnings.
    Maybe I am feeling like this because I am just bored with where I am now. I’ve explored every state here except Sabah and now itching to relocate again, only that my husband got a job here.

    See lah, how to really ‘settle down’ like this? I get bored too easily!
    And yes, you are totally right, the grass is not always greener on the other side. But they are of different hues of green, which can make one appreciate the wonders of HIM in a different light…and so I’ve learnt.

  3. it was really great meeting you and it’s the same here.you are one of the few i can download my thoughts too🙂

    i feel singapore moves fast. the pace of life here is too fast. but it is inevitable given our size and lack of resources.sometimes i do wish it is bigger, there are more to places 2 explore. it is a convenient place and we can get our creature comforts easily but everything comes with a price. because of its physical size and also the size of our community, i think it’s easy to get pulled along and feel the pressure 2 conform.

    i think it’s great that you had the opportunity to live out there, as it gives you a different perspective. i always think there are other ways to live..many ways to live..with that in mind, i’ll try to get by here. if given the opportunity and the right circumstances, i would choose to explore and live abroad for awhile🙂

  4. Is,
    I’m glad that Arshad likes the Jejaka Biskut Halia book. Heh. And thanks heaps for the link. It does help with whatever I am feeling at the moment.🙂

  5. Miss P, how long have you been living outside your country, sampai dilamun pangs and yearnings to return! You just being drama queen right? LOL.

    I could live in Singapore. If and only if I could insulate myself from the spirit of consumerism that hovers relentlessly over the little red dot. I swear, the minute I step foot in Singapore I get hit by this enormous sense of lack – that I desperately need to acquire more, do more, earn more, achieve more,- its crazy!!

    And yes, I like T3 too.🙂

  6. Pat..
    Aisehman, the point is not long or short. It is missing all things familiar. No offence to Malaysians or Malaysia but there are things that are difficult to get done the way we are used to back in SG, AND that makes it frustrating which then equates to the pangs and yearnings of –COME ON already, I need to get things done here.. harlowww. Ko faham tak? Heh tak faham takpe.😛

    But having said that, I won’t want to be back there lah especially now. My husband, a non Singaporean can’t live there either. He doesn’t find it a good place to bring up children to appreciate things other than consumerism way and he finds that stifling, which I agree.

    But I am Singaporean lah… Busuk2 pun negeri sendiri aku kena defend, betol tak?

    Eh Pat, I love Malaysia too ok, hhahaha. But tak boleh beat my beloved Jakarta, home to Bumbu Desa. wakakak

Leave a Reply

