Twilight days

I feel a bit sentimental when I saw this pic of my nyai (grandmother) taken in Makkah for her 2nd Hajj more than a decade ago.

Because now, she is frail and wrinkly and old and can’t really walk without assistance. She can hardly remember who is who and she speaks and asks about the same thing over and over again. This very person who once raised 12 out of her 13 children without a flinch (and without a maid, if I may add).

She is my icon of isteri mithali and ibu teladan. She is also my reminder. That no matter how strong and unbreakable the youthful years have made us to be, we will one day just wilt and wait for our time, like this awesome person I adore.

2 thoughts on “Twilight days

Leave a Reply

