A lesson

Today I learnt the difference between teaching a group of orphans/poor children of single mothers and spoilt rich brats. The former hang on to every word I said as though they are precious dollars flowing out of my mouth, while the latter hang me with the crude words they say about being made to go for extra lessons which they cannot be bothered to go to but are made to by their paying parents.

And oh. The other big difference is, the satisfaction of teaching the first group is out of this world, although I don’t get a single sen for teaching them–whereas teaching the second mentioned group made me want to go out of this world with exasperation, although I am being paid handsomely to teach them.

Such is life, huh?

5 thoughts on “A lesson

  1. I think too, teaching/serving the under-privileged children, keeps us humble, our hearts filled with gratitude and our lips ever giving thanks to God, the provider of all things.

    With our hearts intent on being a blessing, we often come away feeling even more blessed! I can’t explain it, but I think you know what I mean.🙂

  2. ..yeap and all that, Pat.
    Btw, Pat– thanks for dropping by here these days.
    Happy Chinese New Year and may this year of the tiger be a prosperous one for you a hundred times over!🙂

  3. Dropping by? But the pleasure is all mine!

    Thanks for your kind wishes.

    Oh, have fun training in Jakarta!…and jangan makan banyak sangat….. takut nanti plane susah nak take-off! KIh kih kih! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

