His beautiful mind

I spent the weekend writing about Schizophrenia. Not that I am doing post-grad studies in Psychology. Not that I am writing an article about it for any magazines or whatsoever. I wrote about the illness in  layman’s term, in a manner a mother can understand what is going on with her son who has just been diagnosed with it. And that mother is my aunt-my mum’s youngest sister.

I studied about that illness and even wrote about it for my term paper yonks ago. Never did it occur to me back then that one day I would have a cousin diagnosed with it and having to explain to my own parents and family members what it is all about, and what the medications they are feeding him are doing to him and the hope for a better life for him.

He’s brilliant, ya this young man. Bagged the top Malay student in all of the major examinations of the republic and currently doing a double degree midway in the local university there on scholarship. He is the family’s pride and joy. He excels in both studies and in sports, an all rounder in every sense of the word that makes him worthy of the prestigious government scholarship. He is also deeply rooted to the faith, which earned him the jesting title of ‘ustaz intellectual’ from us in the family.

I love him to bits. Used to baby sit him and changed his diapers. Used to take him out to playgrounds etc. In his teenage life he used to ask me for advice on girls and generally about life. We used to hang out for movies etc. This whole news about what he is going through really hurts the family, especially his mum. And I feel the hurt stabbing through the night when I sat and wrote about it to explain to the family what is going through the beautiful mind of this special young man.

May HE be with you dude. We will always pray for you.

8 thoughts on “His beautiful mind

  1. It’s really tough for the mother especially when things doesnt go as plan. My son has autism, diagnosed at the age of 3 years, he is now 7. To me he is my penawar and my racun. Does it make sense?

  2. Percicilan,
    I’m glad you wrote about it because there a lot of misconception and misunderstanding of the subject. First of all, there might be not enough information in a plain language.
    We tend to make an assumption on the issues we don’t understand about them. But if we are willing to put aside the judgemental and skeptical mind, I think we will have a lot of opportunity to learn.
    I’ve been working with clients who have been diagnosed with schizophrenia and one thing I’ve learned that it helps them a lot if they take their medications consistently.
    I have a link here that fascinated me. Hope you’ll find it helpful.

    http://bldgblog.blogspot.com/2006/05/autistic-canyons-icebergs-of-war-and.html

  3. I,m glad you wrote about this. I have a friend who is a manic depressive. Such a lovely person. I know that schizophrenia is more serious though. At what age was your cousin diagnosed? n is he still able to study while on medication? Malaysians need ot be more educated about this. I feel for your aunt. I hope they will be strong for him.

  4. Zurin,
    He’s 21/22 yrs old.
    He is currently going to take a break till the end of the year and then resume thereupon.
    In my aunt’s words, the world collapsed around her over one weekend. I wouldn’t want to be in her shoes, but I believe in this day and age, it is easier to be more informed about things with internet around then to follow blindly the stereotypes casted upon these unfortunate ones…

    Thanks for the kind words🙂

  5. Just to let you know ..because I know a few people whose loved ones suffer from bi polar of schizophrenia and thru their experiences I have come to be convinced that there is nothing like a second or third opinion. Some doctors diagnose conditions such as these too promptly based on the one or two sessions they have with their patients. To label a person schizophrenic when he may be bi polar is making a very big mistake cos the treatment and implications are very different.

    Im sorry to dive into this topic furhter but just in case your aunt hasnt brought her son for a second or even third opinion I think it is a step worth considering and considering seriously . Nothing to lose in the least.

    Please 4give me if im being too nosey but ive had some close experiences with such cases and I hate to see a young mans hopes and dreams and that of his family’s shattered for a mistake a doctor could have made whether out of carelessness or inexperience or lack of dedication.

  6. Zurin,
    You are always welcome here🙂
    She has not gone for 2nd opinion other than mine but I am here not there and currently wholesale taking what the current doctor is saying. I have briefed her all about it via email, treatments, options, side effects etc…
    but I am not sure how much of it she is able to absorb because as it is, she is a bit distressed now…

Leave a Reply

