as though my heart grinned widely

We arrived late and was just in time for azan. I settled with a cup of frothy teh tarik provided by the surau and soon another lady pushed a small plate of pau goreng sambal and a kuih talam ubi ( i think ) to me. I sat under the not so crowded tent in the surau we frequent since Ramadan begins, facing the open carpark.

I heard the azan and ate slowly the 3 pieces of dates I brought from home and periodically sipped the teh tarik, which was just nice. Frothy and not too sweet. I absent mindedly sat there and looked at the open sky while munching on the fried sambal pau. Slowly, I saw the sky turning a shade of baby pink, followed by some rose pink of sorts. Then it slowly but surely moved to towards being bluish violet and finally, a distinct purple colour. And it lasted for a whole 3 to 4 minutes or so.

Purple sunset. I’ve caught a few of those in the past whenever I was lucky enough. Unfortunately, I didn’t have my camera with me just now. Otherwise, I could have recorded that very moment which made my heart grin widely. A moment which some defined with the word joy. But I think it is more than that.

Much more.

2 thoughts on “as though my heart grinned widely

  1. Hello!
    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog! I know exactly what you mean about those gorgeous sunsets… it does make your heart grin🙂

Leave a Reply

