of two different worlds

I didn’t quite enjoy the last book I read from HabiburahmanEl.Shirazy, the Indonesian version I got during our last Jakarta trip. I found it too draggy. I think the only one of his works which appealed to me was Ayat-Ayat Cinta, which I really loved. He may have a different approach and all that, but I still think despite the thousands of copies his works have been sold in our region, he has not reached where Pramoedya had been. It’s like comparing one of those Malay ‘cintan-cintun’ novelist to Pak SamadSaid.

Cannot lah kan?

2 thoughts on “of two different worlds

  1. What was the last book u read? Same here…i seem to enjoy only ayat2 cinta so far…

  2. Ketika Cinta Bertasbih Part 1.
    So far, I have read 5 of his books, only Ayat-Ayat Cinta I read the Malaynised version. The rest original Indonesian version and I didn’t like any of the other 4 books, but since it was my idea to borong them while we were in Jakarta, I HAD to finish reading them or get THE look from the husband.

Leave a Reply

