Love, Valentine

” Your task is not to seek for love, but merely to seek and find all the barriers within yourself that you have built against it…”

Rumi

I need to be able to love some people, which at this moment I don’t because of the things that they do which I don’t like and the things that I do which they don’t like. But there is a need to love them because our faith teaches us to love unconditionally, even our enemies and even pity them ( our enemies). Not that they are my enemies or whatsoever. On the contrary, they are relations which makes it all more imperative that I love them. The key, according to Rumi is finding the barrier againts loving them which (also according to Rumi) that I have built against them myself. Now that I have found those barriers, I am quite sure that slowly I can bring myself to bring down these barriers if I put a little bit of effort to look at things from their angles. That is the first step to ending a war, which is within myself. A tussle between my ID, ego and superego.

But how this post started with Rumi and ended with Sigmund Freud’s ‘psychic apparatus’ of myself is perplexing, even to me.

___________________________________________________________________

14 Feb was chosen as the day to mark Valentines, as according to YourDictionary.Com is 

“The association with love derives from the fact that February 14 was traditionally taken as the beginning of the mating season of birds. As Chaucer noted in “Parliament of Foules” (1381): “For this was on seynt Volantynys day Whan euery bryd comyth there to chese his make.” (For this was on Saint Valentine’s day when every bird comes there to choose his mate).”

I wonder if there are other days which became significant because other animals mated on that day. Say the horses? What day can we attribute to the day they mate? Because I love horses. I think they are me, or I am them.

Leave a Reply

