All I want for Christmas is…

Yesterday the mother-in-law called from wherever she was asking what do I think the husband–her son would probably like for Christmas this year. She had called the husband with the same question for me on another occasion, which I guess explains the 3 new floral potted plants delivered to the house yesterday afternoon. So I got new floral potted plants to be hung ( which the husband thought was what I would want and told his mother so ) and now have to suggest what she should get for the husband–her son.

I told her I don’t know. As in really, I don’t know. I wouldn’t know what a son would want from his mother for Christmas. So I asked him. What would you like from your mother for Christmas this year. His reply was ‘ She’s my mother for goodness sake. She should know what I would want.. ‘ Now, really.  I pointed out to him that the fact she asked means she doesn’t know. ‘ Well, I don’t know what I want either’ came the final reply, which of course ain’t helping. So I told him mum,’ I don’t know… so you’d probably have to figure this out yourself this time..’

Then it occured to me. We may want this and that sometimes, or all the time, but when asked for what we really, really want from someone that means alot to us, more often than not we really don’t know what we want. I guess their presence in our life is what we really, really want and need but somehow we don’t really know how to articulate it.

On that record, the potted plants are nice. But well, what I really, really want this Christmas, cliche as it may sound is for my family and friends, wherever they ( we ) are to be really happy, doing whatever they are doing, wherever they are. Happiness has been underrated on many occasions.  We often forget that happiness keeps us healthy and positive and exude good aura for a better environment. And I am not trying to sound like a zen master or a self-help book here.🙂

So really, I may be eyeing that Panasonic Red Lumix ( I am hinting very obviously here muakakaka ) … but if I know that my family and friends are in the state of happiness, than consider my wish granted. Because I am happy and contented. Despite all the challenges, it has been really a good year for me. Alhamdulillah.

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

4 thoughts on “All I want for Christmas is…

  1. Salam Percicilan
    Same wish here (peace on earth and happiness all round) but a new laptop or the canggih-est handphone in the market would do nicely too!
    Merry Christmas, Selamat Menyambut Awal Muharram and Happy New Year!

  2. Fauziah,
    Here’s to you and your other half, merry christmas, muharram mubarak and a really, really happy new year! keep the johor stories coming ya!🙂
    And yes, the red digicam is still in hint. Though of course, I can settle for the potted floral plants ho ho ho :p

  3. CC,

    You know that I know that you know that I know that you know that I know what you want for Christmas…Hahahahahahahaha!!!!

    Merry Xmas, Muharram Mubarak, and a Happy New Year from me and the clan🙂

Leave a Reply

