Having it OUR way…

The first year the husband celebrated Eid with my side of the family, to say he had culture shock is an understatement.

I think he got dizzy, at the endless number of people streaming in and out of Bapak’s house, the noisy, laughing, chattering and bantering people that we are, of the endless amount of food my mum is famous for and tables holding bottles and bottles of ‘kuih raya’ in all hues and colours. My paternal side, being Javanese means the family is huge. A clan of sorts. And on the first day, the merry making and the flow of food is always as though time stands still. The following day, the visiting will carry on and on. From one Nyai to another Yayi to another Nyai and another Wak or Bibik or whoever.

Most relatives get visited and if they don’t, they would visit us. I remember the first time the husband celebrated raya with us, on the third day, while the merry making was still strong and on full blast, he asked, ‘ This celebration doesn’t end here is it ???’ Ahaks.. ๐Ÿ˜› .. there and then I felt genuine pity for him. It must have been a huge experience for him to ask me that.

Eid, I guess for the husband as he knew it, is not a too social affair. A quiet one with food and prayer in the morning, some visits and that’s it. The next day is yet another working day. And that’s about it.

This year, we recently had the confirmation that my mother in law will be with us on the first day of raya. The ibu mertua to a menantu hantu ( me lah ! ). Meine schwiegermutter. So first day raya will be at our humble abode with her, Milo, Tito and ourselves. Hopefully a quiet nice affair, sans the pandemonium of the first day in my hometown. BUT, oh ho… it won’t be too quiet for long. We will be traveling back down south on the evening of the 2nd day raya and I know, I will not be too late for the merry making that I knew all my life. Insya Allah.

And I remember when I was in my zaman anak dara, I told my mum that once I am married, raya will be my way. Sans the wastage of changing just about anything and everything in the house. From curtains to cushions to bedsheets to eating utensils. My raya would be simple and just celebrating on the essence of what it is meant to be.

I think we are quite achieving that. She did sms if I would be changing the curtains. Nope. Nope. Nope. But I did buy some new cushions as the old ones had cat vomit marks and what nots, and some retro bottles for my kuih raya ( retro lagiii ! ) and going to buy a new bedsheet later as ours have seen better days. Oh, I ordered some retro kuihs too ! Makmur, Samprit, Putu Kacang, Tart Nenas, Semolina ( sugi lah tuh ) and gorgeous cake lapis Sarawak all from her, I must say I am a really, really happy customer.And oh… as previously written, I have lampu colok in the garden, STILL a symbol of my excitement for raya.

It’s during raya I feel like a child again, if only I am not the one giving out the duit raya.. heh ๐Ÿ˜›

6 thoughts on “Having it OUR way…

  1. Thanks for the promo and I hope you will enjoy them with your families. It was a pleasure doing business with you ๐Ÿ™‚ Do come back for more orders and we will add new things for the upcoming festive season.

    Wishing you and your family, Selamat Hari Raya and have a safe trip back home ๐Ÿ™‚

    Treats N Trade

  2. TnT,
    No worries, so far the goodies are sooo good, especially the cake lapis Sarawak! The cadbury chocolate pieces just melt in the mouth !!!
    so Madam Haslina, you gooo girl !
    ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. hahah… good for you. As for me, I managed to smuggle kuih arab, semperit, tat nenas and london almond into my backpack. My husband is SO waiting to eat them. Semperit is nearly half gone. My mistake to open them to inspect the broken ones.

  4. Hey, madam Haslina ni pat Malaysia ke SG? Kalau SG, next year I pun nak order!

    Tell me about culture shock! My in laws are also javanese! First time raya at their house, I almost dropped dead from extreme fatigue! I was the official ‘refiller’. Refill air and kuih lah! And yes, like u said….its such a big family. Until today, I still don’t recognise everyone.

  5. Rozas,
    Mdm Haslina is in KL but she sends to all over the world by courier or fragile post. And home deliveries to SG as well. So far most of my overseas friends order from her and we’ve never regretted!

    ..and as for the culture shock, if you dah culture shock, imagine my husband lah.. culture shock dia lagi lah terover-over ! hehe

Leave a Reply

