Some things just gotta go

Multi-tasking seems to be the mantra of many women, especially in household matters. I used to wonder upon wonder how my grandmother brought up 13 kids single handedly in a single income household, which means whatever my grandfather brought home was enough to feed the family– maids were unthinkable.

I used to think that I could be like her. Raise a brood of kids and be on top of it all with housework done at the snap of the fingers. But, I have to admit. I can’t.

We do not live in that big a house. A terrace with mezzanine floor. But we do have many children, none of whom is our own. Because most of my waking time is either teaching these children or cooking for them, by the time night comes, I am too exhausted so I let the mess be. And messy house gets on me. But then again, I am tired too. The husband helps around. But he too is busy. And we have aikido training 3 nights a week. So the house?

I am quite anal when it comes to doing housework my way. I have a certain system of washing the clothes, of putting my utensils, of arranging the bathroom etc. But I heck that all when I realised that it is better to pay others to do it for me while I rest a bit more. They may not be done the way I want it, but it did get done, the house is clean and tidy hence my nerves are not stretched. So far, having 2 cleaners coming in every week seems to work for me. I am less volatile ( I don’t nag, but I have short spurts of outbursts ) where the house is concern. So delegating, I figure, works for me. I can’t do everything. That, I have to remind myself. I am no Wonder Woman, no matter how much I found her big hair with the red star hair band, her scarlet red bustier and blue undies objects ofย  wonder ( forgive the pun ) when I was young.

Today I slept the whole day. I cancelled all my teaching today, actually to attend a book launching event, but instead, my head was spinning till now. I woke up for lunch. And then for dinner. And in between that, for prayers. My body is telling me to slow down. It has been telling me that many times already, but I am an Aries, I was meant to be stubborn. However, today I finally listened.

6 thoughts on “Some things just gotta go

  1. Actually, not that it is big, BUT it is big with mess. There are 7 kids in our house on a daily basis. 6 of them boys. So imagine..

Leave a Reply

