Bila Rumi Menari…

…entitled the song by M.Nasir. But I was alerted to this work by Rumi by the husband recently…and what  he may have meant by it…

Excuses

Someone says, “I can’t help feeding my family.
I have to work so hard to earn a living.”
He can do without God,
but not without food;
he can do without Religion,
but not without idols.
Where is one who’ll say,
“If I eat eat bread without awareness of God,
I will choke.”


[MathnawiII, 3071-79]
Maulana Jalaluddin Rumi, The pocket Rumi reader, edited by Kabir Helminski, (Boston: Shambhala Publications, 2001), 120

4 thoughts on “Bila Rumi Menari…

  1. Heru..

    Hence I supposed you are one of those
    Roses are red
    Violets are blue
    Most poems rhymes
    This one doesn’t — poets ah ?

    kekekek

  2. I heard about Rumi often from Ira, but never too interested to check his works out. Is he any good ? … hahaha (I’m sure I’ll get a wrist slap for this silly question) …

Leave a Reply

