Raindrops on zinc roof

Last night somehow all of us, the husband, Milo and myself ended up sleeping upstairs in the attic-mezzanine floor, which we turned into our library and office.

At around 4plus in the morning, it suddenly rained cats and dogs. The rain pelted down hard upon our zinc roof. Somehow I found that sound so familiar. It transported me back into my childhood in Kaki Bukit Jalan Perwira, the kampung house opposite the surau. And also on Jalan Eunos– the kampung house in front of the tangki air.

I suddenly became wide awake, listening to the pitter patter of raindrops on the zinc roof, along with it came a gust of wonderful memories of my childhood growing up in the kampung back in my hometown.

I smiled myself to sleep after that.

Leave a Reply

