Of news and mews

The past week, I avoided reading the newspapers/watch the news/read online newspapers. Too much ‘sinetron’ in there. It helps that I have a new assignment that is going to fill my mornings from this week onwards. So political drama can be ignored, really.

Every Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays ( morning ) for 3 hours each session, I am now home schooling a new kid, another special one. He was born a dwarf. And recently he had some surgery that made him unable to walk. I am not sure if he won’t be able to walk for the rest of his life, but at the moment, he cannot walk and has to be carried everywhere. He is 9 years old but the size of a 4 year old or maybe even shorter.

Teaching him has been quite an amusing experience. He is very witty in a loyar buruk kind of way. Very logical and simply said, very ‘selambe’ . I reckon the next half of the year is going to be one very colourful experience for me. Sometimes I wonder, with all these ‘special’ and ‘different’ kids sent along my way to be tutored and homeschooled, is the ONE up there trying to tell me something ?

On another note, Milo has a friend now. A neighbourhood tom cat which Milo likes to bring home to play in the house. I am not quite keen on the idea because tom cats like to mark their territories. Milo likes this friend very much so I don’t feel nice having to keep chasing this tom cat out. But once the friend starts to mark, he will have to go. I cannot afford any more time having to clean cat pee in the house, especially if the cat is not mine.

Leave a Reply

