Moving on and learning

More or less, other than having to deal with a sick and clingy Milo post his brother’s death, I think I have come to terms ( a bit ) with Seuss‘ departure from us. Nevertheless, I still hold my breath each time I see Milo walking towards the gate. Like a deja-vu that I have to learn to stop from coming into my mind. I thought the accident was going to affect my exams today but thankfully, it didn’t.

The exams being over, I can go back to my reading. I hope to finish this book

Image taken from Wikipedia

Which has been given to me quite some time ago but I got distracted with other books and didn’t continue from where I stopped with this one.

I am also very excited with the coming trip, which is coming soon and sooner by the day and in fact, it will be next week πŸ™‚ insya Allah… More than anything else, the trip will mean I get to see some friends I have been meaning to catch up with for the longest time.

There are things I set myself to accomplish before I leave Malaysia, if we ever do leave at all …( I am getting a tad too comfortable here and loving it ).

1. Learn how to sew Baju Kurung, Baju Melayu and Kebaya.

2. Learn to cook at least 3 dishes from each state. So far I am doing good with more than 3 dishes of Pahang and my Gulai Lemak Ikan Patin was a huge success with our guests some time ago. ehem-ehem πŸ˜›

3. Read all of A Samad Said books.

4. Learn a Malay art/culture/craft. I contemplated learning about Malay dance or batik painting. But I don’t know where to go for those.

So far while I have been here, I have been going for business marketing classes at KDMC, German classes at Goethe Institute Kuala Lumpur, baking classes at Kota Damansara, belly dancing classes by ElWardah Dance Academy and online courses on http://www.sunnipath.com .

Next week both the husband and I will insya Allah start on our Aikido class. On why we decided to learn that Japanese martial arts instead of others is another story altogether. And really, really really, it has nothing to do with me enjoying the latest hit cartoon, Kung Fu Panda. Heee πŸ˜‰

At the risk of sounding like a geek, ( which I don’t mind being one, if I am not one already ) learning is fun, as I always tell my students. It is definitely more exciting than whining, complaining and blogging about negative things government/world/life/society do to us or how bad the world is. Those things just sink one down down down the mud pit even further, I feel.

Blue skies ahead !

Leave a comment