Catch Phrase

Was just reading The Star on the interview with Tun Salleh Abbas. The 79 year old former Lord President, now farming in his hometown in Besut, Terengganu gleefully told The Star reporter that he was the one who coined the phrase ‘ Crime of Passion‘ and ‘Toothless Bulldog‘ back in 1957 during a court hearing of a murder case.

I’ve read the term ‘crime of passion’ quite a few times before this in articles. Only now then I know who coined it. But really, between the two, I like the second one better. In my life’s journey, recently or otherwise, I have come across some ‘toothless bulldogs‘, men-undeniably ( if women, can I coin the term clawless bitches? please ? heh😛 ) mostly at work. Now that I know this term, somehow, if faced with such characters again, I won’t be able to keep a straight face. I have a very hyperactive imagination, you know?

Leave a Reply

